
Thanks Eurosport

I’d  like  to  publicly  express  my
thanks to Eurosport for authorising weref.it to use the clips
of the games broadcast on the player.

Within the basket!

00:12.2 in the 4th quarter Red 87-85 White. The second free
throw by 22white bounce on the ring when 8white taps the ball
in the basket. Trail and centre refs grant 2pts for tie the
game. The game clock starts late and stops after 2.9”. The
referees stop the game and they go to the official’s table to
review the play at IRS monitor. After some reviews and one
minute they correct the value of the basket in 1pt. Red Coach
requests a time-out and after it the game resumes with a
throw-in red in frontcourt with 00:12.2 on the game clock.

This is a very interesting situation with many articles of the
rules involved. The decision of the referees even if should be
shared according to common sense is totally in crash with the
rules. Let’s proceed with order:

The offensive player can tap the ball within the basket
– isn’t goaltending
The tap by 8white is legal, the clock must start!
A part of the ball is inside the Basket when 8white
taps!
The value of the basket is 1pt, because the ball is
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already within the basket!
According 2pts instead 1pt is a correctable error!
The refs can’t review IRS to establish if the basket
counts 1 or 2pts!
The IRS protocol allows the review only for 2 or 3pts
basket! (FIBA must think to change it)
The game clock must be stopped when the ball exit from
the net!
The refs may review IRS to establish the time elapsed
from the tap by 8white to when the ball exit from the
net!
The  time  on  the  game  clock  must  be  correct  –  not
00:09.3, neither 00.12.2
The referees must change the value of basket from 2 to
1pt if the error is discover!
The game resume with red throw-in at the throw-in line
in frontcourt and 14” on the shot clock!

So if the result is partly correct, 1pt granted to team white,
we think that the way followed to take the final decision is
not correct. Referees must know the rules and they must use
them, although sometimes the rules go in an opposite direction
from then common sense or sense of justice. Referees may doubt
of the value of the basket and they have to match themselves
on what’s happened; they also can review IRS to establish the
correct time to play, then decide to correct the erroneous
awarding of a point and correct with the help of IRS the
elapsed time of play. If during the review of the play they
add new information (confirm) that the ball was inside the
basket or not the decision will be more correct. We think it
would be necessary: by FIBA, to correct and explain better the
IRS  protocol,  that  now  is  full  of  holes  and  traps;  by
referees, to know better rules and protocols, and to use one
or both when it’s allowed!

Last but not least: the TV commentator told their (wrong)
opinion, then they change opinion, but they explain the rule



wrongly; is not allowed to any person, like the man behind the
table looking the IRS monitor, to suggest the value (1pt) of
the basket!

Copa del Rey 2019 Final Game
Real Madrid – Barcelona 93-94
44blu receive the ball start the dribble (probably travel) he
moves under the basket and release a shoot, 3white blocks the
ball  to  the  backboard  with  the  left  hand  and  touch  the
backboard with the right hand. Trail and centre referee call a
goaltending/interference.  After  revision  of  Instant  replay
sysetem the crew granted two points to the blu team and reset
the game clock to 00:01.2 because it didint stop when the call
was made.

This is not a situation of goaltending/interference because
the ball released from 44blu hands touches the ring and it is
playable by any player on the court. The 3white play is legal,
the basket didn’t count and a jump ball situation occurs, the
possession arrow on the officials table indicate the offensive
way of white team!
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